Resolutions or revolution?

So on reading this very wise article, I thought I’d set wisdom aside and come up with my own list.

  1. Be less like my father
  2. Fix my relationship
  3. Get a doctor’s finger up my ass
  4. Organize myself better at work
  5. Get therapy
  6. Take more prescription drugs
  7. Exercise more
  8. Generally fix myself
  9. Read more
  10. Write more
  11. Finish watching “Angel”

Be less like my father

Just to be clear here, my father is an a**hole. And I am very much like him – shall we say it’s my default setting. Whether through being around him growing up, or pure genetics, I have a very low tolerance for imperfection, including my own. I need to learn to chill and be less of a perfectionist.

Fix my relationship

Assuming it can/should be fixed – clearly the point above is a key part of this. I’m not sure I would want to try the fix if not for my kid.

Get a doctor’s finger up my ass

This is not something I want, but need to do for my health. There’s a possibility that issues in that ‘area’ are impacting my libido and so can help with the previous point. And I somehow know that my doctor will want to get his finger out for me before he does anything else.

Read more here.

Organize myself better at work

It’s easy for me to get overwhelmed by competing demands. I delegate but need to do that more, prioritize and use tools to help make sure important things don’t get forgotten.

I’ve done some work on this already.

Get therapy

This is achievable as I’ve already committed to a therapist. I’m not sure if therapy will work for me, but I need to give it a good try for the sake of my family.

Take more prescription drugs

I’m not rattling yet. This is a joke, really, as I’d rather take nothing at all. While what I’ve been taking has been relatively small doses, it’s done nothing for me. I should consult my doctor and follow his advice. I should, but I’ve actually stopped seeing him even though I’ve run out of medication. Very unhelpfully, my beloved suggested my stomach pains yesterday could be withdrawal. Probably she’d also link my lightheadedness today to my undrugged state. It certainly can’t be anything to do with the holidays (altered diet, general over-indulgence in food and alcohol, late nights) now can it? Of course, if it is the drugs, that’s just another reason for me to stop using.

Exercise more

They say a sedentary lifestyle contributes to depression. While I don’t see it, I do need to shed some weight and I realize I’ll feel better about myself if I’m fitter.

Generally fix myself

While the preceding points are the headlines, there’s more detail to be thrashed out. One More Knight is on a mission to be nice to people, but he is not a blazing success. In fact, best intentions have backfired on me. That’s a story for another day, perhaps.

Read more

I don’t read much but do enjoy fiction, which takes me to another place and is arguably better than just staring at the TV. I also have some non-fiction which can be educational or can generally widen my horizons. There’s also lots of interesting stuff online and I tend to add stuff to Pocket faster than I read it.

Write more

I’ve found writing a good way of expelling things that otherwise roll around in my head and can keep me awake at night or distract me from what I’m supposed to be doing.

Some of those things I expel can be published as interesting blogs. Others cannot.

Finish watching “Angel”

Okay, so I’ve got to have an easy one, right? Only three seasons left, although I’m also watching the last two seasons of Buffy.

4 thoughts on “Resolutions or revolution?

  1. save. spend. splurge.

    This is a revolution to me, not a resolution post! You can do all of those things, just not all at once. Fix the most important thing first and the rest will follow.

    Thanks for the link 😀 (and the kind words)

    Reply
  2. sarahn

    I really appreciate your link to the GoodManProject and libido. I am having issues in that area, and seeing a male’s perspective and how things were resolved was eye opening. Interestingly, the GPs (doctors) I’ve spoken to have all just gone ‘oh yeah’ when I’ve told them, rather than actively offering to help!? Perhaps it’s because I’m there for other things too!?

    Reply
  3. Pingback: December 2013 Budget Roundup = $217,275.17 or a decrease of -($914.10) or 0.42%

  4. Pingback: Unresolved | One More Knight

Leave a Reply

